Things I’m Afraid to Tell You

“Things I’m Afraid to Tell You” is pretty much a post about weakness. I learned about this trend from Truth and Cake who was freshly pressed today (congrats, btw!). The creator of this, however, is Jess from Makeunder My Life. Feel free to visit both of their pages; they are incredible bloggers and definitely get you thinking. Now, on to the real purpose of this post.

I have decided to take part in this. I’m not sure how often I will do this or if this will be the only time, but I decided that you have been faithful enough for me to be more than metaphorically transparent with you all. I have been posting on this blog for over 2 years. Granted, most of you have not been with me for anywhere near that long, but the time that you have dedicated to reading my blog has meant a lot. The least that I can do is be real with you, if just for this once, and stop hiding behind layers of metaphorical rhymes.

So, here goes nothing. Things I’m afraid to tell you:

  • Most of my poems can be directly related to myself. 
    This means that most everything you read is who I am. Even the poems that are inspired from other forms of art are very revealing. If you know how to dissect literature than you have me pegged pretty well.
  • I highly dislike most of what I post.
    The funniest thing is that some of the poetry that I hate the most has had some of the best feedback in the form of both likes and comments. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve slept and had babies with about 5,000 metaphors or if it’s because I don’t understand what “good” is. I don’t know. Maybe it’s because I know what all of the poetry means and all of the stories behind them. Maybe that is what affects my feelings toward a piece of writing.
  • I am harsh toward all poetry, not just my own.
    I am not usually quick to give writing feedback because I struggle with being either “too honest” or completely lying to the person that I am “helping”. This isn’t saying that I can’t spot potential or that I am no help at all, but when someone just comes to me and says “Hey, what do you think about this?” it is hard for me to actually respond positively. I promise I’m not just a jerk.
  • I prefer darker poetry whether it is my own or someone else’.
    I think this one may be pretty obvious to some but I feel like darker poetry has beauty that cannot be found elsewhere. It is eerie and uncomfortable; not easily spoken about; and it is most personal to me. It is who I am.
  • I’m not sure that I could do this again.
    While this may not seem like much to you guys, this is way more than anything I’d usually do. It’s awkward. I think that I’ll just stick to poetry. (;

Leave a Reply

