You’ve Taken All of Me (Poem)

Someone please explain to me how my groping mind is still empty, and how every loose end is still hanging from the lynching tree, raw with a night of prejudicial fun. Because here I am, bits of me everywhere, completely infatuated with who I’ve become, and there you are: the sun. With a light like yours, it’s no wonder the stars have hung up their gun, because the flames from your heart have already shot Orion down, and your name will be like death that’s already come and gone. 

Leave a Reply

